Newsletter


Click here to unsubscribe


OFFICE DE TOURISME
Place du clos
83440 MONTAUROUX
Tél. : 04 94 47 75 90
Fax : 04 94 47 61 97
montauroux@paysdefayence.com

Home » Discover » Cultural Heritage

  •  St Barthélemy's church

First mentioned on the lerins regional survey in the 12th century, the church was unlarged in 1691, but traces of the original building (the old entrance door, external walls, and the belfry) are still clearly visible.

In the past, the roof of the church was covered by varnished tiles (as at Callian) but they were destroyed by fire at the end of the 18th century and were replaced by standard tiles.

The heart-shaped sundial that you can see was drawn in 1859.

The most recent renovation inside the church was in 1994, and there you will see a number of paintings and objects which are inscribed in the national register of historic monuments.

The church has a choir area decorated with an open fresco, painted in 1859 by two artist from Nice, Galli and Coste, and which represents the four evangelists and Saint Barthélemy.

Take note also of picture of the assumption, a copy of the Murillo School, offered in 1843 by the Queen marie-Adelaïde of Savoy.

The statue of Saint Barthélemy is also to be admired, he was one of Jesus's apostles who protected Montauroux from numerous invasions, discover also the busts and relics of Victoire and Specieuse, two saints that are celebrated each year, two weeks after Easter.

Lastly, don't miss the italian organ which dates back to 1870 and which was later restored


    


  • St Barthélemy's chapel

It was in 1630 that the Order of White Penitents was required to vacate the church and was given in return a lease on land within the fortress of Montauroux on which to build a chapel. The stones of the old fort were used to build the chapel together with materiels purchased with money contributed by the population of Montauroux.

99 years later, the chapel reverted to the ownership of the marquis of Montauroux who soon demanded a rent for the occupation of the site. At the request of the Bishop an entrance was made on the West side, but this turned out to be dangerous and was walled up. In 1815, the villagers levelled out the courtyard (which then servec as a trashing area for wheat) and opened the present entrance door.


From the national register we learn that in the middle of the 19th century the chapel was owned by Squire Poulle, M.P for the Var and President of the Court of Appeal of Aix. He arranged to have the chapel classified as a protected building in order to safeguard it at the time of the 1848 anti-clerical revolution, but the building remained in his family via his daughter, his grandson, and then Mr Grosselin from whom Christian Dior acquired it.

The famous tailor considered that the chapel should return to its rightful owners and bequeathed it to the commune of Montauroux in 1953, which restored it.

It was entered on the register of historic monumentsin 1958 due to its unique feature : the walls and vaulted ceiling are entirely covered by painted wooden panels.

Behind the altar there is a very large painting of St Barthelemy and the Annunciation which is framed by a wooden retable dating from 1748.




  

  • St Michael's chapel :

The chapel of St Michael of Cavaroux de Cuxa existed well before 1040 on the Lerins survey.

Throughout the monarchist period it was used as a place of worship in honour of St Archange. After the French Revolution it was acquired by the Truc family, who agreed to sell it to the commune which in turn passed it on, lacking the funds to restore it. It was acquired by Mme Merle at public auction anc susequently, at hte time of the separation of State and Church, it fell once again into the public domaine.


       

  • fountains :

Who wil sing the praises of the many fountains of Montauroux whose gentle murmures sooth the hot days of summer ? They have their own stories to tell, which are often interwoven with the history of our village.

Listen to them...

  • you will enjoy its picturesque and quaint little squares, its old doors with engraved lintels, its fountains ant their shooting whisper.


Website design and creation